IOM3 celebrates milestone anniversary with Gala and Premier Awards dinner

17 Jul 2019
The centrepiece of the Institute’s anniversary celebrations marking 150 years since the founding of the Iron and Steel Institute in 1869 was the Gala Dinner at the Science Museum in London.

‘This prestigious event was an ideal way to celebrate the 150th Anniversary of the Institute and was a great success thanks to the work of the many people involved,’ said Professor Best.

Earlier in the evening, HRH The Duke of Kent presented the Prince Philip Medal for polymers in the service of mankind to Ed Kosior on behalf of Nextek. The Duke was joined by various members of the Institute to discuss the Women in Materials Group, the Younger Members’ Committee, the Schools Affiliate Scheme, the Bessemer Davy lamp, and a representive of the Daphne Jackson Trust.

The prestigious IOM3 awards, medals and prizes that were given out on the evening acknowledged individuals and local societies for their achievements, published work and contributions to the profession.

Following a champagne reception, the guests were invited to dine in the heart of the Science Museum surrounded by artefacts, steam trains, planes and cars and most fittingly the original pilot Sir Henry Bessemer converter dating from 1865.

Among the guests was Jon Bolton of Liberty Steel for the Bessemer Gold Medal, Dr Kate Fox CEng MIMMM for the 2018 Harvey Flower Titanium Prize and joint Platinum Medal winners, Professor Roger Whatmore FREng CEng FIMMM and Professor Robert Young FREng FRS CEng FIMMM. Professor Sir Colin Humphreys CBE FRS FREng FIMMM also joined us at the awards to present his Education Award to Dr Russell Goodall CEng FIMMM.

Local Societies were also recognised on the night. South Wales Materials Association won the Local Society of the Year (Large) and East Midlands Materials Society of the Year (Small) awards. Special Commendation was given to the Western Institute of Mining and Minerals.

A video of what some of the winners had to say is now avaliable to watch at

To view the full list of award winners, visit